Hearing Loss Assessment

Book free hearing test
Call Freephone
0170 432 0137

Full diagnostic audiometry examination

The Claritas Hearing assessment is uniquely comprehensive, going much further than simply diagnosing the type and style of hearing lossyou may have. It also assesses if any peripheral hearing loss has led to a decline in your brain’s ability to listen and communicate.

All other providers conduct a diagnostic hearing test called Pure Tone Audiometry (PTA), but in most cases further tests are not normally offered. While the PTA test is vital for diagnosis, it can be a poor predictor of your ability to listen. It is commonplace to see the results of the PTA test used to extrapolate and guess at what effects your hearing loss is causing.

What Claritas Hearing do:

Claritas Hearing don’t guess! They do a full diagnostic audiometry examination to find out exactly what has gone wrong with your hearing. They then conduct a range of assessments to test how that has affected your ability to:

Before the hearing test:

The Claritas Hearing hearing assessment is based on the five phases of communication decline, and starts with a detailed questionnaire called the Customer Oriented Scale of Improvement (COSI).

The questionnaire establishes the nature of your hearing difficulties. It seeks to define the areas in which you struggle and then to prioritise them.

They then perform a full examination of your outer ear using an otoscope, which allows them to fully examine the ear canal and eardrum.

Testing what your ears hear and how that effects your ability to communicate:

Over the years, providers of hearing care have become very skilled at defining the actual hearing loss you have, using a Pure Tone Audiometry (PTA) test – this is generally what people mean when they say they are having a “hearing test”. However, calculating the actual effect which hearing loss has on your ability to listen and communicate is far harder.

At Claritas Hearing they have combined the PTA hearing test with a suite of assessments that provide a 360-degree view of a person’s hearing. Each assessment is linked to a part of what they call the five phases of communication decline.